Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Radiation Safety Committee

The Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) is comprised of campus safety personnel and researchers from nuclear engineering, nutrition, veterinary medicine, animal science, microbiology, medical physics, and medical research departments.

The RSC recommends policy and procedures to the university for the safe and legal use of radioactive materials in the areas of teaching, research, and other university work. On behalf of the university, the RSC also applies for appropriate state licenses to permit research and teaching using radioactive materials. The RSC is also responsible for the review and approval of applications and amendments for use of radioactive materials and sources by university personnel in university facilities in the Knoxville area. Other responsibilities include overseeing the safe possession, use, and disposal of radioactive materials and the safe conduct of research, diagnostic and teaching activities using radioactive materials. The committee also assures the certification of training for all personnel using radioactive materials.

Radiation Safety Committee Charter (ver2; 2019)

Name Committee Role Title Department
Federica Morandi Chair Professor Small Animal Clinical Sciences
Stephen Handley Member Clinical Instructor Graduate School of Medicine
Eric Lukosi Member Associate Professor Nuclear Engineering
Brett Miller Member Medical Physicist Radiation Oncology, UT Medical Center
Scott Moser Member Supervisor, Lab Safety Services Environmental Health & Safety
Dustin Osborne Member Associate Professor Graduate School of Medicine
Rebecca Payton Member Research Associate II Animal Sciences
Todd Reynolds Member Professor Microbiology
Marsha Smith Member Program Leader & Radiation Safety Officer Environmental Health & Safety
Jon Wall Member Distinguished Professor Graduate School of Medicine

Name Title Unit
Troy Lane Associate Vice Chancellor
(Institutional Official)
Public Safety
Brad Day Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Office of Research, Innovation & Economic Development
Allen Bolton Interim Senior Vice Chancellor (Institutional Official) Finance and Administration